Alumnae/i Awards

Each year at Reunion, it is our tradition to honor members of our community who have distinguished themselves through service—to the School, to its students, and to the world outside Masters. Reunion award recipients are honored during the Banquet Dinner and Awards Ceremony, which takes place on the Saturday evening of Reunion weekend.

Potential honorees are nominated by the alumnae/i community at large and winners are determined by a vote of the members of the Dobbs Alumnae/i Association Board. If you would like to nominate a classmate or friend for one of our alumnae/i awards after reading the descriptions and criteria below, please complete our online nomination formNominations for Reunion 2018 are due by Wednesday, November 15, 2017.

The Richmond Bowl

Created to honor Nell Angle Richmond ’34 and Tom Richmond, this award is presented each year by the Dobbs Alumnae/i Association to an alumna/us whose exceptional support of and service to The Masters School reflects the same outstanding quality of creative leadership demonstrated by the Richmond family.

Because this is an Alumnae/i Association award for leadership, it traditionally goes to an alumna/us who has worked as a Dobbs volunteer in a number of different jobs over a period of years, showing leadership and dedication in not just one but many areas of service. It recognizes a kind of selfless dedication and willingness to serve, and has gone to alumnae/i who have always been willing to go the extra mile in their service to the school. Staying power as an active leader—long-term service as opposed to intense short-term service—is recognized by means of awarding The Richmond Bowl.

Past Recipients

1976       Allie Burchenal Ault* ’21
1977       Joan Malloch Lord* ’42
1978       Dorothy March Halsey* ’12
1979       Lilian Hall Fisher* ’37
1980       Marianne Prescott Mead ’41
1981       Penelope Spurr Marshall ’45
1982       Jane Lightner Meads* ’42
1983       Pamela Daly Vose* ’47
1984       Margaret Detmer Rossi ’50
1985       Eugenia Merrill Seamans* ’40
1986       Phyllis Hoelzel Evans* ’36
1987       Jeannette Sanford Fowlkes ’58
1988       Cynthia Ferris Casner ’52
1989       Ann Thorndike Cover ’53
1990       Vesta Tittmann McLean ’40
1991       Judith Sperry MacEwan ’56
1992       Betsy Thorndike Wilson ’58
1993       Betty Ann Drake Shook ’45
1994       Ruth Mitchell Freeman ’51
1995       Leslie May Marra ’67
1996       Elizabeth Edwards Ledyard*’26

1997       Susan Smith Collinson ’62
1998       Susie Marckwald Mackay ’58
1999       Nell Fisher Grim* ’53
2000       Lynn Pilzer Sobel ’71
2001       Margaret Kies Dietterich ’65
2002       Louisa Garnsey Lambert* ’57
2003       Margaret Leyman McHenry ’63
2004       Ann Atkins Clark ’44
2005       Eleanor Merrick Bissell* ’33
2006       Susan Madden Samson ’57
2007       Susan Follett Morris ’57
2008       Ann Ebbert Sullivan ’58
2009       Carolyn “Lyn” Orr Mattoon ’59
2010       Eleanor Bissell Bochner ’65
2011       Priscilla Franklin Hindley ’66
2012       Elise Funke Griffin ’47
2013       Norene Ginsburg Peck ’73
2014       Christine Grim Neikirk ’84
2015       Susan “Spark” Cremin ’65
2016       Diana Davis Spencer ’56 P’84 2017       Louise Millholland Cecil* ’57
2018       Sally Nolan ’68


The Anna Howe Faculty Award

The Anna Howe Faculty Award is an award recognizing former or current faculty members who have helped shape and change the lives of their students. The award is presented to a teacher who has not only excelled in the classroom, but who, through guidance, encouragement, and support has made a meaningful difference to his or her students.

Past Recipients

2002       Barbara Jones*
2003       Julie Davidson*
2004       Lenore Laupheimer
2005       Larry Blizard
2006       John “Jack” Pierpont*
2007       Patricia Bayliss
2008       Dr. Nancy Theeman
2009       M.A. Haskin
2010       Ginger O’Shea
2011       Louise Riker Edmonds* ’46
2012       Mary Wood
2013       Jane Baron Rechtman*
2014       Chris Goulian
2015       Cecilia Nauck
2016       Everett "Doc" Wilson 

2017       Dr. Eileen "Lee" Dieck
2018       Ellen Cowhey


The Eliza Bailey Masters Fellowship Award

The Eliza Bailey Masters Fellowship Award is given to honor an alumna/us who exemplifies Miss Masters’ philosophy through outstanding service to his or her community. While this award recognizes an alumna/us who exemplifies Miss Masters’ ideal of service in the world beyond Dobbs, potential candidates should also have maintained their ties to and affection for our alma mater.

Past Recipients

1977       Helen Kirkpatrick Milbank* ’27
1982       Louise Riker Edmonds* ’46
1986       Joan Sitt McMenamin* ’42
1991       Allie Burchenal Ault* ’21
1995       Penelope Spurr Marshall ’45
1997       Kathryn S. Fuller ’64
2000       Alice Probasco Lupton* ’45
2006       Laura Lee Brown ’59
2007       Alison M. Jones ’67
2008       Jean Wheeler Hoffman ’52
2009       Betsy Flower Gotbaum ’56
2010       Sydney Shafroth Macy ’70
2015       Barbara Congdon Van Dusen ’45
2016       Claudia Boettcher Merthan ’51 

2017       Dr. Joanne Liegner ’73
2018       Mirna Valerio ’93


The Maureen Fonseca Young Alumnae/i Award

Created in 2015 to honor former Head of School Maureen Fonseca, the Young Alumnae/i Award recognizes an alumna/us under the age of 30 who embodies the values and mission of The Masters School—to learn, to strive, to dare, to do, and to be a power for good in the world—and who maintains a deep connection to Masters and to his or her fellow alumnae/i through volunteerism and active involvement in the life of the School.

2016    Ava Bynum ’10 

2018    Molly Edwards ’08

49 Clinton Avenue
Dobbs Ferry, NY 10522
(914) 479-6400

Do it with thy might

powered by finalsite